Time Management

Being busy, isn’t the same as being productive.

Are you productive or just busy? Think about it. These two mindsets seem similar at first sight, but there is a totally different way of working behind it.

Time management: Habit aha

Are you productive or just busy? Think about it. These two mindsets seem similar at first sight, but there is a totally different way of working behind it. “Productivity emerges when people push themselves to think differently” – (Quote: Charles Duhigg). You don’t want to be the guy who is always busy, but doesn’t get deep work done. Discover the difference between being busy & being productive!

You are busy

  • I get work done, when I check off my to do’s on my list.
  • I perceive the tasks/responsibilities that were delegated to me, as a chore: I have to do them.
  • I have to run from one meeting to the next, because it is expected of me.
  • I answer every mail in my inbox within 24 hours.
  • I don’t have the time to think about long-term objectives.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You are productive

  • I get work done, when I achieve the results I set out for today.
  • I perceive the tasks/responsibilities that were delegated to me, as a choice: I am free to do them in a certain way. (when, how, …)
  • I can influence my working day by the choices I make. (for example: How much time will I be in meetings? How long will I work on x? …)
  • When I am working on something, I know exactly why I am doing this. (It helps me to… , It allows others to…, It leads to…)
  • I don’t have to get it all done by myself, I am just responsible for the end-result.
  • Every week, I have at least one long-term objective in the back of my mind, I want to finish by the end of the week.
  • I visualize a ‘mental model’ of my ideal working day & try to ignore the distractions that don’t fit in it. 
(For more info on this, click here for an interview with Charles Duhigg – it’s at 12 min.)

So today just focus on being productive, not busy, and let us know how you feel in the evening. Reply in the comment section below, because we would love to find out how your day went!

Do your future self a favor. Subscribe today and we will send you a video on how to create longlasting habits.

Leave a Reply

